Now that we’re in 2024, everyone has become deeply involved with social media.
While there are certainly benefits to using social media, there are also several drawbacks, the most significant of which is the damage it does to today’s youth.
Unknowingly, Instagram has been gaslighting the harmful concept of body image problems for quite some time.
Instagram’s recent updates, particularly the reel feature, have increased the number of time users must spend on the app.
If it is the source of your anxiety, then you have landed in the correct place. Let’s talk about how to deactivate Instagram account temporarily.
How To Deactivate Instagram Account Temporarily?
Access Instagram at instagram.com on your mobile device or computer.
Instagram doesn’t allow you to deactivate your account through their mobile app (on Android, iOS, or Windows).
To access your account settings, navigate to your profile and click the “Edit Profile” link. In this case, we utilized Google Chrome.
To temporarily suspend your account, go to the bottom of the page and click “temporarily disable my account.”
You won’t see this option when editing your profile from the mobile app.
Verify your password after selecting a reason. A confirmation prompt will appear before you carry out the requested operation.
Instagram just needs that for easy comments, so pick whatever you like. When finished, click the “OK” button.
Your Instagram account has been temporarily disabled so no one can view your profile pictures.
Those who have already messaged you can continue to do so, and you’ll be able to see their communications whenever you reactivate your account.
What Does Account Deactivation Mean On Instagram?
There is a distinction between a deleted account and one that has been deactivated.
Deactivated Instagram profiles are no longer accessible by search, cannot be edited, and are hidden from all other users.
Everything that has happened up to this point, including any photographs, comments, insights, or other actions, has been saved; you can’t see them now.
Once an account is deleted, all associated data are permanently removed from the system. That is what “delete” generally indicates.
Why Might You Want To Disable An Instagram Account Temporarily?
It may be best for your business to suspend your Instagram activity for a few weeks temporarily.
Examples of such things could be:
- The survival of your social media profiles is uncertain because of major changes at your firm, such as a redesign, a merging, or other activities that could harm your public image.
- While your social media team works on an all-new Instagram strategy, you hide your old, irrelevant posts.
- Suppose your company has opened many accounts over time for various reasons or by various personnel, and you’re in the process of merging them or getting formal verification. In that case, you shouldn’t delete them just yet.
- The business does not want any of its public content to be seen on Instagram but does not want to lose its username; therefore, it has not deleted its account.
- The company has decided to take a break from Instagram due to negative press or other unfavorable circumstances.
If you need to take a break from your Instagram business account, know that it’s simple to reactivate it when you’re ready to get back in the game.
Delete And Deactivate Your Instagram: What’s The Difference?
The primary distinction between deleting and temporarily suspending your Instagram account is that the former leaves your account inaccessible forever, and the latter leaves it permanently dormant.
We recommend taking time away from Instagram before saying your final goodbyes if you’re considering ending your bond with the app.
If you decide to deactivate your Instagram profile and find that you don’t miss it for even a second, you are ready to move on to the next stage and permanently erase your Instagram account.
Deactivating your Instagram account for a short period will conceal your account, comments, likes, and the number of followers.
After signing back into Instagram via the mobile app or website, you can always turn on the feature again.
If your Instagram account is permanently deleted, you can use the same username to create a new account or use a different account to add the same username to Instagram.
Your Instagram handle will remain even if you choose to deactivate your account. The software does not let two users register with the same username.
How To Delete Instagram Permanently
You’ve made up your mind to remove your Instagram account permanently. This may be done in the web browser and the iPhone app.
To delete your iPhone app account, click your profile image in the lower right to access your profile, then select “Settings” in the upper right.
Then, select Account, and finally, select “Delete account” at the very bottom.
After entering your new password, you’ll be asked to confirm your choice from the “Why would you choose to delete your [account name]?” drop-down selection.
Once you have entered your password and chosen a reason for deleting your account, the option to remove your account permanently will be presented to you.
Finally, select “Delete [username], then select OK to confirm.
It’s a little different from deleting your account on a desktop computer.
To permanently delete your Instagram account, head to the Help Center and select the Delete Your Account option.
After entering your password again, you’ll be prompted to confirm your decision to delete your Instagram account and provide a reason for leaving.
Instagram won’t let you go until you choose a valid reason from the drop-down.
Next, enter your password one more before proceeding to the delete button.
According to Instagram, it will require 30 days for your profile to be fully deleted and for all of your data to be removed from the service.
During that period, you will be unable to access your Instagram account.
How to temporarily deactivate your Instagram account has been covered in detail here.
When you delete your Instagram account, everything you’ve ever posted will be wiped permanently.
This includes erasing your content, including pictures, clips, story posts, messages, likes, and followers.
You will never see them again. Your old account will be deleted and forgotten. Due to security concerns, Instagram cannot delete your account on your behalf.
Be sure you intend to delete your Instagram account before doing so because the service won’t bring back inactive profiles.